logo_singer
singer global  |  where to buy  |  blog   |  login   |  signup   |  cart cart

Click here to review products

Reviews for 9960 | QUANTUM STYLIST™

Packed with features, the SINGER® QUANTUM STYLIST™ sewing machine has everything you need and more!

« Back to product details

Show me:

I want to like it!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Stopped Working After Using For A Very Short Time.

3 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I really wanted to like this machine, but I am very disappointed in it. The first time I used it, it stopped sewing. The thread gets caught and it stops sewing and I have to get the needle up high enough that I can get the thread cut and manage to get the material out of the machine. I sewed six squares for a t-shirt quilt I am making and I can't sew anymore. So unhappy with it.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

disappointed

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Poor Quality

4 out of 4 people found this helpful.

This was a mother's day gift. I had not done much sewing recently because I did not have a machine to use for the many projects I wanted to make, so I was very excited to get this machine. I was impressed by the reviews and soon got materials for many of the things I wanted to make.

I loved the ease of use and features. But when it stopped working after I made three extremely simple capes for my boys, and I could no longer sew more than a single stitch, I was disappointed. I was even more disappointed when I found out that in order for it to be fixed I was going to have to ship it out of state at my cost. If it were not too late (by two days!) to return the machine, I would do so, and find a different machine. I rediscovered my enjoyment of sewing only to have it stymied by a machine that simply did not measure up.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Excellent Value!

Overall Rating:

6 out of 6 people found this helpful.

I have had my Singer Quantum Stylist 9960 for a few months now and have used it almost daily since my purchase. I love it! I have used it for piecing quilt blocks, free motion quilting, bobbin work, and twin-needle hemming on a knit skirt. I have taken it to several classes with me, and other people are always impressed with it. In fact, several of my friends have also purchased the same machine after using mine. I love how smooth it stitches and how easy it was to set up and use right out of the box. The diagrams for threading help me remember to thread it correctly every time. The thread cutter is super handy (and cuts down on thread waste), but because the threads get cut very short, you have to make sure the next piece you sew is under the needle to begin, rather than in front of the needle so the needle doesn't come unthreaded on the first stitch. I love the walking foot for sewing binding on a quilt. The piecing foot is accurate and all the marks on it make it easy to use. This machine has more features than other popular brands that you would have to pay thousands for. Oh, and I love the extension table and the hard cover. Overall, this machine is a super great product for an awesome price!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My new machine

Overall Rating:

3 out of 3 people found this helpful.

Received new machine, works great right out of the box. After years of a mechanical machine I find this a great sewing experience, and loved the complete tutorials on you tube.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Sew easy

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, Easy To Use

3 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I am a beginning sewer who received this machine as a gift. It has been so easy to learn the machine. The accessories are a little overwhelming in number, but I have been learning as needed - the machine tells you what accessories it needs! Easy to operate and easy to thread - I couldn't ask for anything more except a bulkier manual.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Renewed my urge to sew

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

Hated to give up my 40 year old Singer, but glad I did. Can't believe the features. If you follow the guidebook, this machine works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Light and glare

Overall Rating:

The machine meets all my needs, but the light creates glare on the foot and shank that makes using the machine difficult. The glare strains the eye and makes seeing the stitching almost impossible. When talking to the Singer rep. no solution is possible, so I think I will return the machine and look at others.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Singer 9960

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Outstanding Instructional Manual

I am very pleased with my new Singer 9960 / Quantum Stylist!
I love all of the product's features and accessories; the control panel is marvelous as it shows you what accessory foot you need to use for each of the different stitches.
If you read and follow your instruction manual you will have success.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Quantum

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

So far I am very happy with this machine. sews like a dream!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love the 9960 Quantum Stylist

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Thread Path Difficult To Read

I love all the features/stitches,and number of presser feet you get with this machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great so far

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Does Not Have Points To Attache To A Sewing Table Like The Older Singer We Had

Bought for my wife who is an experienced seamstress. Have had the machine about one month. I'm very mechanical and can sew a little and understand machine very well. So far my wife hasn't used the machine very much. I've sewn a few simple items she requested I do. The machine works great. The needle threader works very well. The features......needle position button, thread cutting capability, speed control, threading and selections of all types of stitches are great, and work well. I took the end cap off to look at the machine and was pleased to note that most of the internal workings appear to be metal....I expected a lot of plastic. I used the feature that locks the foot in position for starting sewing thick fabric and it was great. Nothing but good to say for the machine so far. I'll write another review after the wife finishes some more difficult projects.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Thread frustration

Overall Rating:

When the machine is working properly it sews great. It is quiet and sews nice even straight stiches. My problem is it will start shredding the thread for no apparent reason. I can try everything to fix the problem and it just doesn't help. Change needles and thread, clean the machine, rethread nothing helps. It is very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

great for sewing, not quilting

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Problems With The Stitching When Quilting

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I like the machine a lot for the price. It has a lot of features that expensive machines have. I do have a problem when quilting, I get loose stitches on the bottom. I retread the machine and it stitches fine and then the loose stitches appear again. I've been a sewer for over 50 years, so am not a novice at this.If that problem could be solved, I would LOVE the machine, as I bought it for quilting, as I sew 2 to 3 hours everyday!!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

9960 - Love it

Overall Rating:

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

This machine is wonderful, I only have one thing, all of the embroidery designs are very tiny- I want to make them larger and cannot seem to do it.
the machine sews exceptionally, and is so nice to use
I would recommend it to anyone. Very good value. If anyone has any tips on using the embroidery designs, let me know.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Quantum Stylist 9960

Overall Rating:

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I really like this machine. It is easy to thread and the machine is very quiet.I did have to take it back to the store that I got it from because some of the stitches were not coming out right. It was an easy fix. The only thing that I am not crazy about is the lettering...size and quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Cautiously optimistic

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Stitch Selection A Bit Cumbersome

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I returned a Singer Professional 9910 because I had so many problems with the bobbins. I replaced it with a 9960 Quantum. So far, I love it! The steps to finding the special stitch selection are a but cumbersome, but getting used to it.. So far, I love the bobbin system. Much easier to work with.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Happy!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

Very pleased with this machine! Have not had it a month yet, but am using it for a quilting class. The machine is very quiet and I love the self-threading and cut features.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I am not a expert at sewing and this machine is still easy for me to use. It has so many features and sews like a dream. I had trouble with using a button hole attachment on my old machine, not with this one, it works perfectly. I love the granny speed putting the speed down to hand sewing! If I get unsure of myself I just use it and it is almost impossible to make a mistake. I would recommend this machine to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best Sewing Machine I have ever owned

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Love The Extension Table That Came With It., Not So Heavy To Pull Out & Put Back In Closet For Storage. Portability.

Cons: None

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

My husband gave me my Christmas present early this year. I was needing to do some sewing before Christmas & I had messed up my Singer Simple machine & just wasn't in the mood to fool with it. Well, I have never had so much fun sewing in all my life. I started off making money bags for our business & with the double stitch feature I didn't have to go back and forth to reinforce the seams. I love the fact I don't have to use the foot pedal, I can just press start & stop and the ability to control the speed. I then stitched the name of each business on each bag. AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

worth the money

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Solid

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

what first sold me on the product is that it has metal internal structure and is solidly built. Secondly, there are so many features - the list goes on and on. And so many stitches! Another selling point is the number of instructional videos I found - from Singerco, HSN, and strikesmyfancy, along with other owners of the product. This selling point is something other sewing machine companies underestimate - if a consumer cannot see him/herself using the product, watch it operate, and have lessons on how to use the machine in different settings, a potential buyer is apt to lose interest. Given the amount of competition in the marketplace for this level of purchase, the $500-1200 range, one would expect to see better promotion than a paper advert that gives little incentive save for price point.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

9960 Quantum Stylist - Not sure

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Unsure About The Stability Of The Electrical System On This Machine, Or At Least The One I Received.

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I'm not sure how to rate this item since I just happen to be boxing it up to mail off for warranty repair. A couple of weeks ago I was sewing a buttonhole and it just jammed on me. When got everything straightened out and ready to start again, it would do anything but give me three beeps when I push the start button or try to use the foot pedal. I took it to a local Singer repair shop and the tech there said the problem wasn't with anything I did or the machine. He believes it is probably a bad circuit board. So, who do I blame? I loved the machine, but after this episode and the "not so wonderful" customer service I've received, I'm a little shy of Singer products now. Hopefully once the machine is repaired and I have it back, my feelings will change. I'll still be leary of jamming the machine and frying another circuit board though. I'm glad to see others are loving their 9960 though.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Singer 9960

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I am a 70yo man who sews for a hobby. I have owned several Singers over the years, lately, the 9920, 9940 and now the 9960. They all have been excellent machines but the 9960 tops them all. My mother always owned Singers and bought us the first on for a wedding present. The 9960 works like a dream and I really like the automatic thread cutter. It had gotten to be a joke that strings were a part of anything that I sewed. No More !! I have only had it for a couple of months but I sat right down and sewed the first day I got it and use it almost every day since. Easy to understand and use and am very happy with it

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A wonderful machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I received my quantum stylist this afternoon and finished my first project in no time at all. The auto thread cutter alone saves SO much time, you wouldn't think it to be so significant. Setting it up was a breeze, nice instruction manual. The machine is made solidly, its quiet and the stitching and features are fabulous. My only nit is the led is so bright and reflects off of the bright, shiny foot creating a glare. LOL! Such a horrible thing :-) This sewing machine will be the incentive I need to sew everyday. Im so happy!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My Quantum

Overall Rating:

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I love this machine, it has all the features that I wanted. However, I purchased my machine from Amazon.com when I was visiting my son in the US. I never used it until I got back home in Canada. The only problem I had was with the threader it does not work. After contacting singer in the US they told me I would have to take my machine back to the US to have it checked under the warrantee. This was a little disappointing since I thought I would be able to take it to any Singer Shop to have it serviced under the warrantee. I will not be travelling to the US until next year and it is more than a little inconvenient to have to take it back there for service. The needle threader was probably the most inportant feature for me since my eyes are not the greatest any more. If it wasn't for this problem I would have rated it a 5 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Just the right one for me.

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, For Beginner/advanced Seamstress

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I never thought I would enjoy a sewing machine so much. It has everything I want, need and more.
Easy to use, so much to yet discover....

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love this machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

Love the ease of use and the quality of the finished stitching. Easy to learn the embroidery use and the flexibility of the functions.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Quantum review

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features

Cons: Complicated

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

So far I am liking my new sewing machine. This has replaced my much loved baby lock , which I lost in hurricane sandy. It has many of the same features, with a lower price tag, not quite as easy to use but I will learn. Good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best machine I have ever had

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Love The Thread Cutter

Cons: None

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

This machine has all the features that I was looking for, It was very easy to get started and has a very good manual. This singer replaced my 1958 Slant Needle machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love my Quantum Stylist 9960

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Plastic Case Makes It A Bit Noisey Comparted To My 44 Yr Old Singer With Steel Case, The Height Of The Pre-programmed Lettering And Special Decorative Stitches Should Be Adjustable To Be Larger

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I have had my Quantum Stylist 9960 for about 6 months now and have waited to review until I had given it a good trial. I am very pleased with my machine after retiring my 44 your old Singer.

Plenty of power; passed the hemming blue jeans test getting through the thick folds with ease. With quite a bit of effort, I did finally figure out how to use the needle threader which is great as my 67 yr old eyes are not too sharp. The thread cutter, clear bobbin cutter and winder, removable base to make "free arm" are such an improvement over my old machine.

The machine is a little noiser than I expected; but stable on my table. Selecting the special pre-programmed embroidery stitches is such an improvement over old fashion cams with the flexibility of adjusting width & length. The ability to make a variety of style and exact length every time button holes is nothing short of miraculous. Wish I hadn't waited so many years just to get that feature.

My only disappointment is the limited size (approximately 1/2" high) for the lettering and decorative stitches. If you want to monogram with large size letters, you have to do it free-hand with a hoop that you have stenciled or hand marked a name or letters. Knowing this now, I may have upgraded a bit to a machine where I could program in what I want to write, and let
the machine do it automatically.

All in all I am very pleased with my Quantum 9960 and purchased it at a great price. I would recommend this machine to most seamstresses; except if you want to do a lot of monogramming and need large decorative stitches.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Lemon

Overall Rating:

Cons: Poor Quality

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

I received this as a surprise gift from my husband and kids for Mother's Day 2011. I loved it for the first few months, but by August it had stopped working. All it would do was beep when I pushed the start button. It went to the service center on 9/15/11 and I did not get it back until 12/16/11. It worked for less than a week before the same thing happened. On 1/13/12 is went back to the service center for several more months. I got almost a year out of it before it died on me again this summer so it will be off to the service center yet again. I'm frustrated, not to mention disappointed, in this machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very Happy Sewer

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Amount Of Assories To Go With The Mahcine!

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

I purchased this sewing machine in July (2013) and I LOVE it. It is easy to use. It has all the bells and whistles. I love the automatic thread cutter, adjustable speed control.... Whats not to love. I have made 3 quilts and 6 handbags since buying this machine. You can't go wrong in purchaing this machine it comes with so much! The price is so afforable. I cannot say enough nice things about it. I know I will be a happy sewer for years to come. Thank you Singer for a GREAT sewing machine at a price I could afford!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Wonderful Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, Easy To Use

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

This sewing machine is AWESOME!! I love it so glad I did the research and found the one that does all I need and then some.Very easy to use it's a quite machine. Love the feature to let it sew without having to push the peddle. I just finished binding a quilt and that was a big plus. Can't wait to have the time to sew more to find out what else I can do with this great machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

2 months in the shop 4 times

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features

Cons: Poor Quality

6 out of 7 people found this helpful.

I would like my money back on this machine. IF it worked like it is supposed to it would be a fabulous machine but it doesn't. It keeps blowing fuses and I have to take it in to the shop to get a new fuse EVERYTIME. I purchased it on June 15 and I took it back today for the FOURTH TIME. NOT HAPPY with this machine AT ALL.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very Dissatisfied

Overall Rating:

Cons: Repair Can Cost More Than Machine

13 out of 14 people found this helpful.

This machine was a considerable investment for me. Unfortunately I neglected to return it immediately to Amazon, assuming it was user error. After 3 months of going over and over and over the manual I am confident it definitely IS NOT user error. To sew seams on thinner materials using correct needle, thread etc., one must start almost half an inch in to prevent pushing the material into the bobbin area where it tangles. Obviously this requires adjusting most seam allowances unless you want a hole where seams start. If you don't recognize the problem immediately (since the foot/needle impedes your view) it requires the whole needle plate be taken off to correct the problem. Frequently it will tangle the bobbin threads which you cannot tell unless you frequently look to check since it whirrs along as if everything is splendid. This IS NOT related to improper threading or tension issues. Of less concern to me, but for those with vision problems would be a bigger one, the needle threader has never worked on the machine. Singer has a "limited" (very) warranty - no service centers anywhere near me and does not pay for shipping to have the machine repaired for warrantied parts. It also does not pay for labor for those parts after one year. I've been sewing for over 25 years and I can assure you that this machine (at least the one I got) is not quality and certainly not worth the price or trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, I Would Buy It Again

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

Best sewing machine I ever used and I've been sewing for over 55 years, professionally and at home. It's quiet and vibration free. I love the way the needle stays down when you stop so you don't lose your place.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

Bought in May 2013 and have used it almost every day (I'm a grandmother and a quilter).

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Never, Ever Again Buy Singer!

Overall Rating:

Cons: Poor Quality, Not A Dependable Machine

10 out of 12 people found this helpful.

Never-ending nightmare began with this machine early on. Singer replaced it, still have same problems. 9960 will sew properly then, with no warning, machine freezes, motor makes horrible grinding sounds. Can no longer use it. Singer not interested in helping further so I am stuck with a $500+ sewing machine that does not work. Terrible decision to purchase Singer - it's not the SINGER I grew up with and could depend upon just because of the name.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Singer 9960

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I love the machine. Only have one issue with it. Occasionally while sewing the top thread gets out of the proper threading and I have to stop and retread it.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

WOW

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

Never had a machine like this - it does so much. I am still learning to get beyond my comfort zone and try the other attachments I don't know how to work.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Amazing

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Quiet, Smooth

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I couldn't of been more happier with the purchase of my first sewing machine! It surpassed all of my expectations by far! I love love love it! I had learned on my inlaws sewing machine which was a basic brother! Then i ordered this one for my first and my stitches are amazing and not to mention I SAVE so much thread! Thank you Singer, you made sewing fun and easy!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It's a Keeper!!!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use

Cons: A Couple Presser Feet Aren't The Best Quality Feet.

6 out of 7 people found this helpful.

I've not had the machine for very long just yet but I simply love it! It's the most quiet machine I have ever heard, sews through many layers and I sew dog collars so this machine goes through double layered nylon webbing, cotton fabric AND interfacing all together with no hesitation whatsoever! I LOVE the auto thread cutter, it's a little noisy but cuts the thread at a perfect short length. My advice when you get this machine....go slow, there is alot of buttons that do many things and to ease any frustration take it slow and read, read, read!! I thoroughly researched sewing machines as I am very particular and don't have tons of money to cash in on a machine....and I just couldn't be more happy with my purchase! Easy to use auto threader, just take your time with the it because not only do you have to push the lever down you have to push down and a little back to get the hook to protrude through the needles eye all the way so it can grasp the thread. I've got it down pat now!! OK now for the cons for myself.....some of the presser feet aren't the best quality...like the stitch in the ditch foot. I will be replacing it with a metal one...don't like the plastic. The other presser feet are ok with me! The other con is the extension table....I love the extra space but why Singer did not make the table flush with the machine is beyond me. I upgraded from a Singer Stylist and the table on that machine sat flush with the machine itself. The Quantams table has two little edges that stick up above the bed of the machine...drives me nuts, but I am buying a Supreme Slider Quilting Mat to cover those protruding areas and I think that should do the trick!! I used the free motion to thread paint today and adjusted my tension a bit and just buzzed right along...it is a very, very smooth running machine!! The decorative stitches all work very well,not to large but cute! And there is the stitch elongation for some of the stitches that is going to come in handy, have to read further on how to do those just yet. So all in all, so far, I am very happy with my new Quantam Stylist 9960 and would highly recommend this machine to others. The hundreds of stitch options are amazing, you can use other needles like Schmetz in the machine with no problem at all....Schmetz are all I use! It goes through many layers without a hitch, the presser feet collection are more than anyone could wish for! So Singer has made me one happy sewer today!!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Sewing is Fun Again

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, Easy To Use

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I LOVE the way I can regulate the speed by sliding a button. I can start sewing by pushing a button (or using the foot petal).

The walking foot is wonderful. The machine's manual is well written and beginner friendly. I am loving every minute!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

carter

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I have 4 singer machine by far this is the best machine I own love love love it

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Quantum Stylist 9960 - Very disappointed

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features

Cons: Poor Quality, Expensive

8 out of 9 people found this helpful.

I am so disappointed and aggravated with this machine. I began having problems only weeks after I purchased and honestly should have just returned it to JoAnn Fabrics. It's been almost two years and I still have the same problem after having the machine repaired multiple times. The needle jams in the bobbin area shaft randomly and the machine sounds like a grinding steel noise. Sometimes the upper thread is completely tight and locked when this happens. I've adjusted the thread tension from more loose than the standard setting of 10 and even tried a higher setting. Nothing seems to make a difference. I have threaded the bobbin multiple times and there just doesn't seem to be a consistent scenario that causes the needle to jam in the bobbin shaft. But, when it does, it won't stop no matter what I do. The bobbin case (holds the bobbin) will completely rotate counter clockwise and jam as well. Such a huge disappointment as at the time I bought this machine it was being sold for around $1,000. I caught it on a 50% discount sale and now I know why..... I am about to purchase another machine and it definitely will not be Singer. I have spent countless hours threading, re-threading, etc.... I also purchased a ruffler attachment made by Singer for this machine and it's a nightmare as well. Works about 50% of the time like a charm and then once it stops working that's it...no fixing it.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Nice machine!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

I've had many machines over the years, including Viking, Brother, and Janome. This machine is a good competitor for how it sews and what it does. I am pleasantly surprised at the quality of the stitch and all of the great features.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love this machine

Overall Rating:

4 out of 5 people found this helpful.

Once I learned how to thread the machine, I've been sewing like a fool. I love the special features, especially the thread clipping feature. I'm still learning how to use the machine and it's special features. I have made several items and each has been a joy to sew. The automatic needle threader is such a help. I especially love the feature where I can use the sew button instead of the foot pedal. I have been sewing for years and I truly love this machine. This machine doesn't jam up at the beginning of a seam. This, in itself, makes the machine worth having. That used to be so frustrating for me when sewing with my other machine. I've been sewing with it for a month, and am expecting to be sewing with it for a long time to come.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My 9960

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

I love my 9960! Only one problem ~ the lock button for sewing heavy fabrics will not stay in the lock position ~ it locks at first, then unlocks when I begin to sew.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Quantum 9960 Stylist

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

5 out of 6 people found this helpful.

So far I love the machine, due to my hectic schedule I have not been able to use it much. I have made a sampler of the stitches just playing with it. All the stitches worked great and I was very impressed. I made an apron and used one of the decorative stitches to go around the edge, came out great. I am having is locating the needles for the machine. The instructions say to use gray shaft 2000 and 2001, this is also listed on the package the needles came in. I can't find these needles anywhere. I have looked in local stores and on the internet with no success. I am having a difficult time using the auto threader, but I figure there is a learning curve for this part, as I have never used one before.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A Superb Sewing Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

4 out of 5 people found this helpful.

This machine is very easy to learn to use. I have never before sewn in my life. With help from a friend who is a fantastic sewer, I learned to make valances for my home and did them all by myself once she showed me how to measure, cut and sew. It has so many nice features with 600 stitches to choose from. I just love sewing because this machine is wonderful and easy to operate. I'm so glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Wow!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Need A Video Tutorial, Need Clearer Instructions

5 out of 6 people found this helpful.

This machine brought back the joy of sewing to me! It has so many stitches to choose from. There's even a Russian Alphabet to sew a small monogram with.

It is fast and quiet. I am spoiled by the needle threader and cutter. It feeds fabric well, but be sure to
use the the seam guide because the feeding has moved fabric. I have sewn duck canvas as many as 8 layers with this machine with no trouble. I just needed to start with the right needle and thread.

Although I am quite experienced, I had no experience with a horizontal top threader machine. I needed clearer instructions for that as well as the automatic buttonholer.

My little shelf that the quilting bar sits in cracked and fell apart. My dealer replaced the ankle and I got back to sewing again. Other than that, there have been no more issues.

It is a work horse with many more features than more expensive machines.

I have thoroughly enjoyed this machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love This Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

What a great machine! Love the thread cutting, the extension table, all the stitch features and feet which came with it--still learning, but what an enjoyable experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The Broken One

Overall Rating:

8 out of 10 people found this helpful.

My machine didn't work right now. It's bobbin lodge displaced and derailed when i started to sew.
I'll have it to be repaired at the licensed Singer Customer Service store.
Please post my comments about my machine to your Company.
Thanks,
your customer

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, High Quality

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I love my machine. I have an old Kenmore basic machine that I loved, but I wanted more to do different projects. This machine is one of the nicest machines that I have ever used. The stiching is exact and very easy to use. It takes a little bit to get use to find what stich, but once you get the hang of it you will love it. I would recommend this machine to a basic sewer to the advanced. I am a quilt making and can't wait to use the machine to make a new quilt. I have made three projects already enjoying everytime I get behind the machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

very happy

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

This machine is everything that I was hoping for. The classes were something I knew that I would take and enjoy. Thank you for a great product

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A Sewers Dream

Overall Rating:

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

I have been sewing all my life of 57 years. This is my dream machine. I am still discovering all its capabilities, since this was my Christmas gift. I have been putting the machine through the paces, and it has not disappointed me once.

My only disappointment is it did not fit in my Mothers Singer Sewing Cabinet from the 40's. I recalling sitting under that cabinet many times while her machine hummed along sewing all of mine and my sisters dresses.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Three's A Charm

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features

Cons: Poor Quality

5 out of 7 people found this helpful.

This is the third machine I have had, since the other two prior were faulty with features that didn't work. So far so good, but then I have only had it a few weeks. The other two didn't last two weeks! Keeping my fingers crossed

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love This Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: A Little Bit Heavy To Move Around

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

This is my first new machine in years. I find this machine very easy to work with. The digital features are easy to use if you have prior computer knowledge. I especially like the larger table top that can be used. I would recommend this machine to anyone with medium sewing skills.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love, Love, Love It!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

This machine is a godsend! The tension is always right, it's incredibly quiet and smooth and practically sews everything by itself. I should have bought one years ago! I could not be more pleased. This machine even handled going through crazy thick Carharrt overalls with no problems what so ever. Highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Masterpiece Sewing

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Expensive

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I love this sewing machine above all the Singer models I have owned. No limits on all the stitches I can do with this model. I love the ability to set the machine stitch and it practically sews by itself. I highly recommend this Singer model for quality and endurance.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Good Value

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I am new to quilting and this machine has all the features that make it so much easier. Works like a dream and very user friendly. I've used it daily for over a month and just love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Easy enough for a beginner

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Complicated

10 out of 11 people found this helpful.

I never used a sewing machine or had sewing lessons, but I've manage to thread a needle and hand stitch out of necessity. We've gotten to the point, however, where our daughter's pants all need to be hemmed and it's just not practical to hand sew (poorly) or stitch witch (doesn't last). So when the Singer 9960 came up as an Amazon Gold Box special, I quickly went into research mode and between the positive reviews, the price for features (even though I didn't know what most were), and the fact that we had over a dozen kids pants waiting to be hemmed, I went ahead and made the purchase.

Knowing absolutely nothing about sewing machines, other than what they look like and that they combine thread and voodoo to bind fabric, I was able to hit the ground running and hem fifteen pairs of pants the first day out of the box. Today, I hemmed two heavy-fabric school uniform dresses, easily changing between feet and producing professional looking hems. The 9960 comes with a mind blowing array of parts and attachments, but if you ignore all that you can start sewing immediately after threading the machine and bobbin. Between the straightforward manuel and simple Google searches for tutorials, I've managed to master basic hems, overcasting, blind hems, and fabric mending (scissor mishap).

The machine is complex but the the instructions make threading and bobbin filling pretty simple. Threading the bottom bobbin is a little tricky but threading the needle with the automated threader works pretty well. The Overall the functions are straight forward, it's easy to change between stitches and feet, and the foot pedal operates smoothly. The removable free arm is essential in allowing me to hem kids pants. I also tried out the text embroidery and it's crazy how easy it is.

For a beginner who thinks they will need a machine into the future, there are simpler looking models out there but the 9960 was quick to get started with and has made this beginner produce professional looking alterations is a short time.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Awesome Sewing Machine for Quilting!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

What an awesome sewing machine! I'm using it mainly quilting. I love all of the features and feet that come with it. I have no complaints as of yet.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Automatic threading

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

9 out of 10 people found this helpful.

I have had this machine since December and I am really pleased with it. I have trouble however with the automatic threader. After placing the needle at its highest point and bringing the threading bar down, I have to push the lower part of the threading bar forward so that the tiny hook goes through the needle eye, otherwise the hook will not go through and it will not catch the thread. I have another self threading machine (another famous brand) and it does the threading job without my assistance. I am disappointed with this feature in my quantum. The cut feature is a wonderful tool, yet when I use polyester thread the thread jumps out of the needle, not so when I use cotton thread. Otherwise the machine is wonderful, I actually love it, it has marvelous features, lots of feet, great customer support and guidance, not to mention an incredible price. If I only could solve the two problems stated above I would have given it 5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A Fantastic Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: None

7 out of 8 people found this helpful.

I used to be a sewing machine dealer and I
know sewing machines. The 9960 was my Xmas present from my fiance. This is a great machine with beautiful stitch quality. Everytime I sew with it, I love it even more! The machine is very quiet and is simple to use. The great selection of buttonholes and stitches sew out beautifully! I also love Singer's wonderful warranty on the electronics. I was also surprised it comes with the extension table. This feature is usually an extra purchase with other machines. Thank you so much Singer for creating this awesome machine!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

frustrating

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features

14 out of 15 people found this helpful.

I was on the top of the world when I bought my machine. It is now 16 months later and I am shipping it to the repair center for the third time. I am sewing along and it just stops working. New power board, new fuse and start all over. I have a 19950's singer and love iit. Too bad I can not say the same for this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Finicky

Overall Rating:

Cons: Expensive, Very Finicky About Thread, Poorly Thought-out Bobbin Cover, Inexplicable Problems

11 out of 13 people found this helpful.

Received for Christmas. Bobbin cover is a nuisance ,not hinged nor does it slide, but pops off. Machine jams if thread is not newly off spool. Quit working with no diagnostic information on screen after less than 5 hours total sewing. Screw driver accompanying machine is too large to use. Foot pedal is extremely lightweight and slides around. Interior of cover has unprotected styrofoam. Machine has lots of neat little features(bright lights, needle threader, thread cutter) but is not easy to use. Will have to take it in to see if it can be fixed. What a waste

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great machine

Overall Rating:

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

Many features and ease of learning

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

Thsi machine is fantastic, I received it for Christmas and have used it often. My other machine was difficult to get out and use so I didn't use it that often (I prefered hand sewing to using it). This machine is easy to get set up and use so I am sewing more.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

nice machine

Overall Rating:

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

this is a nice machine though the infromation given on it made it sound like you could hook up with the computer for interesting patterns but it does have nice qualities the only thing I don't like is you can't adyust the size of the letters.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Fun and Easy to Use

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

4 out of 5 people found this helpful.

Compared to my old Singer, this one definitely has more horse power behind it. It sews very smoothly, and I love the fact that it will stop the machine if the needle hits a hard spot, instead of grinding down and breaking the needle like my old one did.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

GREAT MACHINE

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Thread Cutter Is Great....

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

LOVE THE MACHINE, IT IS QUIET,LIKE THE THREAD CUTTER, VERY NICE LOOKING MACHINE.
VERY HAPPY WITH IT.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I Love My Singer!

Overall Rating:

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

I love, love, love my Singer 9960 Quantum Stylist sewing machine! It's everything I wanted, and then some! Have already completed a beautiful quilt with it, and some other projects also. I call her Sister Girl, and she's calling me now! LOL!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great sewing machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features

Cons: Complicated

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

Love my machine works great on jean material and it is beautiful.
I just need a teacher to show me how to use all the fixtures

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Singer, you've designed the perfect machine with this one!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

9 out of 10 people found this helpful.

I bought the Singer One machine; used it once and took it back. It was a TOY compared to the best buy of the 9960 Quantum Stylist machine!! I truly love this one. As an intermediate seamstress, it does everything I need it to do and more. The user will love all of the built-in stitches. I sew missions dresses, and I have already made about 30 cotton dresses in the past week with my new machine. YES - The 9960 Quantum Stylist has great features; a user friendly manual, smooth drop-in bobbin and thread lead; the automatic thread cutter works perfectly; the electronic auto pilot and speed control provides complete control of sewing speed; sewing difficult areas is much easier and error-free. It has a sleek and simple LCD digital information advisor with changes at the push of a button. I enjoy the electronic auto pilot which gives stitch quality and speed control. Another great feature is the high and slow speed options with maximum speed of 850 stitches per minute and the Start/Stop button for use without foot control. Many accessories included, and the extension table and heavy duty carrying cover for the machine are extra nice to have. Singer - you've designed the perfect machine in the 9960 Quantum Stylist. I highly recommend it for its value, features, price, and simplicity.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

9960 Quantum Stylist

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

This is an excellent machine. The only problem I've had is that the instructions for using the buttonholler aren't very clear. Finally got it connected correctly but still can't make a buttonhole. Otherwise, everything I've tried so far has been excellent. Good machine for a beginner as well as a more advanced seamstress.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

What a machine!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

This is my 2nd Singer. I bought my last one 10 years ago and, although it still works just fine, I got a taste of the computerized version and BAMM! I was sold...had to have one. This machine is wonderful. It does so much and with little effort. I saw one review where someone had said the thread kept breaking off due to tension to tight. I think the thread breaks, as mine did, because I was using an older spool; the kind with the slit in it to hold the thread when not in use? Anyway, once I figured that out I just threaded it over rather than under the spool (as directed) and problem solved. Newer spools don't have that slip so.... Anyhow, I love this machine and would recommend it to anyone whether beginner or advanced, young or old, etc.... A great machine and a great value!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Not what I expect

Overall Rating:

Pros: Easy To Use

Cons: Poor Quality, Expensive

8 out of 14 people found this helpful.

I purchase this item with big expectations. First, the feature that made my mind was the capability to embroider letter, but the fonts are too small, and ugly. On the first minutes working with this machine the bobbin got stuck and I have to cut the fabric and got ruined. I think is a high price item but what I got is not what I was expecting.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great Sewing Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Bobbin Winding A Little Difficult

4 out of 5 people found this helpful.

Have had many Singer machines, and this is the best one yet. I am amazed at all the attachments and have not yet learned everything about them. Only thing I would change is the bobbin winder setup. The old "Touch and Sew" I used to have did the bobbin winding right within the bobbin case by just pushing a lever. Wish this machine had it as well. Otherwise, no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

disappointing

Overall Rating:

Pros: It Does Have Some Good Features.

Cons: Poor Quality, No Way To Reboot The Computer Or Find Out Why Its Beeping

16 out of 19 people found this helpful.

I loved this machine at first. Loved the push button start and stop and rewind. Also loved the big table that attaches to it, and that's about it. It does not handle even 4 layers of flannel very well. It does not like any old thread, it has to be very expensive thread. It does not handle thickness changes in the fabric. It breaks needles a lot. (yes im putting them in correctly). You can not go fast with this machine or it bounces all over the place. Ive had it 7 months and it has now stopped working. All it does is beep at me. Ive done all the check lists. I know how to sew, ive been sewing since I was 10. Im very frustrated with this machine and after 7 months it has to go into the shop. I expected more from this expensive machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love It !!!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: None

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

Recently purchased this machine and have fallen in love with it. My first project was a complete beding set including drapes. The project was completed in 2 days and looks fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love it so far

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value

Cons: The Bobbins Are Expensive And Not So Easy To Find.

11 out of 12 people found this helpful.

The most important thing. You need to read the manual. There's a video in you tube as reference that explains the way to use it but its really important that you read the manual. I just finish a blanket (with 3 layers) and the machine didn't disappoint me at all. It's so smooth and sturdy at the same time. I love it. And Amazon didn't disappoint me either. My favorite place to shop with absolutely best customer service ever.....

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love this machine!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

5 out of 6 people found this helpful.

I have really enjoyed sewing on this machine. The presser feet are easy to change out. I especially like the needle threader and the automatic thread cutter. I like the autolock stitch. I like that the machine indicates which presser foot is needed with the stitch selected. Great machine. I'd recommend highly!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Happy Customer

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Can't Manage To Use The Needle Treader

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

As I sew as a hobby, I can't say I have already tried every feature of my new machine, but I am very happy with my choice.
Is has beautiful stitches and is quite easy to use, but I am not able to use the needle treader, I tried several times, but the tread never goes trough.
Overall I would recommend my friends to buy this machine, as it comes with a lot of accessories, is steady and not very noisy.
As I have more time with it, I can come back and give another feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great Machine

Overall Rating:

5 out of 6 people found this helpful.

I just finished a lap quilt on this machine and it turned out great. For the price you simply can't beat the Quantum
Stylist 9960. It comes with many feet and accessories
and is so versatile. It's easy to use, sews so smoothly and
talk about stitches. I stitched out several of them and they
look so professional. Ladies, if you want a machine that you
can count on this is the machine for you. Simple yet oh so
adequate.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

weekend stitcher

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use, High Quality

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

Love this machine! My first upgrade in years. Great to sew without foot pedal. Becoming spoiled very quickly. Does a fantastic job. Sewing is fun again.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

9960 Quantum Stylist

Overall Rating:

Cons: Poor Quality

17 out of 18 people found this helpful.

I purchased the 9960 August 2012. On October 2012 the Mother Board went. I brought it to an Authorized singer Repair Shop as suggested my Singer. Repair shop was told by Singer that it would take 8 to 12 weeks to get the part. I needed this machine ASAP for my Craft Business. I sent an Singer an e-mail on October 30, 2012 and to no avail I have not heard a word. This machine was purchased at Amazon- they stood behind the product and replaced it for me due to the fact that Singer could not do it in a timelt manner. I am not ALL that confident now in the 2nd machine. I do know that my next machine will NOT be a Singer!!! Singer's name is not what it used to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Wounderful machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

3 out of 4 people found this helpful.

I bought the Quantum about a month ago and have created many garments that I entered in a fashion show. the Singer sewing machine made it easier to create the quality of my awesome designs.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

9960 quantum stylist The BEST MACHINE EVERY

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

5 out of 6 people found this helpful.

Easiest sewng machine i ever owned. I am a quilter as well as mending and fancy stitches all of these i have used on my new machine. i would highly recomend this machine

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love it.

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Expensive

5 out of 6 people found this helpful.

I love this sewing machine. It comes with all the feet I will probably ever need. It was pretty easy to thread and the stitches to chose from are fabulous it does everything I need and didn't no I needed. I hane done a couple quilts made a shrug, candle mat and I used the bias tape foot wow I can't say enough,this machine runs quite and fast, and can easily sew threw a quilt using heirloom stitching, free hand embroidery seems to be next to play with. I am very happy with my Singer 9960 Quantum Stylist.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A Very Sad Tale

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features

Cons: Poor Quality

23 out of 25 people found this helpful.

I was pretty impressed with the features and ease of changing stitches within seconds, the nice stitching, thought I had a great machine. Unfortunately, early on, the bobbin casing was poorly secured and would jump out of it's socket causing needle after needle to break and countless hours of putting it back into it's place, reattching the needle, rethreading, only to have it happen again and again and again. My machine is now barely over a year old, hardly used and I am sad because of the cost and I cannot use it. I don't have money to run out and buy another and really don't want to drop another bundle on a sewing machine. I thought it would last me a few years. I took it back to Joann's Fabrics to get it repaired, they had it for a month, then returned it without repairing it (the person who repairs machines was under a pre evac order due to forest fires (the order didn't occur until after he'd had it for a month). I have not heard back from Joann's, 3 months later. So, I have an expensive machine that I cannot use. I am not a happy camper and will never by another Singer again. I have sewn for over 50 years and have owned many machines, none have ever fallen apart so quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Disappointed

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, Nice Case, Table

Cons: Complicated, Lower Feed Jams, More Than Cotton Doesn't Move Properly

16 out of 17 people found this helpful.

I really cried when my Singer 2010 died after 32 years and I had to replace it. I only have about 15 years left to sew (I'm 62 now) so I didn't want to go crazy. I thought this machine was a good conservative choice - it has lots of features, however, I do not believe the quality is in the package. Shortly after starting to use it, the feed jammed; I had trouble winding the bobbin correctly. I feel it requires lots of patience in doing everything just so whereas my other Singer was easier to use and rarely gave me any kind of issue. I made a pillow out of fleece and had a terrible time with fabric feed. The identification of all the feet that look alike was hard for me also (I ended up returning this one to the online retailer and getting another brand that has a letter on each foot). After 32 years, I do know how to sew, but need a solid machine that does what it does well and not so much not well. Sorry Singer, you missed on this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I love it..

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Inspires Me

Cons: Seemed Complicated Until I Took The Time To Try It.

12 out of 13 people found this helpful.

I love all the things this machine will do. I've made a queen size quilt, roman shades, pettiskirts and lots of general sewing projects. It runs smooth and the stitches are prefect. All the functions I want are just a few buttons away. The only problem has been the needle threader. It doesn't line up with the needle. Wish it had one like my Brother machine...

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

unhappy surprise

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use

Cons: Features Advertised, Not Provided

12 out of 19 people found this helpful.

Machine works great, but imagine my surprise when no button hole equipment was included! All those fancy gadgets and no button holes! Now I have to spend yet more money to do a basic task.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

The Berries !!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

15 out of 17 people found this helpful.

I have sewing close to 50 years. My Quantum is well worth every penny. It is easy to use. It has an automatic threader which is a huge help. I had never used a button hole maker before and when I had trouble, Customer Support set me right up. The stitching is beautiful and this machine has a lot of flexibility to it - for cloths and quilting, the stitching variety and I like the two interchangable trays or you can leave them off for small tight projects. I like the variety of stitches which make projects look professional and polished. I love that it will automatically tack ends. This is more than a basic machine - it is an all-in-one.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A wonderful machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

6 out of 7 people found this helpful.

I am so happy with this machine. Every time I use it I discover a new feature. It is farly easy to use and the stitches are wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

lemon

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features

Cons: Expensive, May Be Prone To Repairs

29 out of 33 people found this helpful.

not sure but may have a lemon...after less than 20 hours of sewing a sensor went out and while it was still under warranty I do not live near an authorized Singer Repair....so I had to pay to get it delivered...I hadnt even finished paying for the thing...I am afraid of the future...It has an odd odor and doesnt sew nearly as smoothly as my Brother... I do love the stitches and extras but I do not trust it...hoping for better things...and will change this review if it proves out!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great, but not wonderful

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Presser Feet Are Cheap And Flimsy

27 out of 32 people found this helpful.

I purchased this as an upgrade from a EuroPro Craft machine and wanted one that gave me a lot of potential for future use. I was a little disappointed in the sturdiness of the machine as a whole, especially the presser feet. I lost a tiny steel ball to the buttonhole foot immediately and found it very hard to find this particular foot anywhere. Fortunately the company replaced the foot at no cost to me! Also I was disappointed that the designs were so small with few adjustments available. I realize it is not an embroidry machine but with so many stitches available, I thought there would be more adjustments available. Also when winding a bobbin, I found they wound uneven. There may be an adjustment that I have not found yet. With my old machines, I was used to climbing over thick denim seams without a problem. With this machine, it just makes a loud sewing noise and stops, and you are unable to wind the wheel through the seam stitch by stitch. I have not use the available attachment to help you over tough high seams yet. I do love the quietness of the machine, the variable speed, the reverse and tack stitches, and the many decorative stitches. I would like to see a video in the future on each of the machines features as I still have not figured out how to use the threading part and the directions don't make much sense yet to me. As I use the machine more, I expect to "learn" its nature and be able to sew whatever I want.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love, Love My Singer

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

9 out of 12 people found this helpful.

This is the 3rd Singer Sewing machine that I have bought and used and this is by far the most wonderful machine. I love all the extra
attachments that I have received with this machine. I have not tried all of them but I am excited to try them. This machine is so quiet and runs beautifully. Also I was delighted when I went to JoAnns and found the manager so helpful and so willing to help me in whatever questions that I had. She is a "gem" and I always stop by and talk to her. When I bought this machine she was there showing and explaining all the extra things that was in this package. And I was also thrilled to know that I can go in for lessions which is a big plus. I cannot go a day without using my Singer. It is such a joy and makes my day pleasant. What more can I say but
I LOVE,LOVE, Love my Singer.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best machine I ever owned

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, High Quality

Cons: I Don't Have Any Cons

13 out of 14 people found this helpful.

I have been using my new Singer Quantum 9960 stylist for a little over a month and have made several items. I love the unique stitches, the ease of operation and the performance of the machine itself.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Awesome Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

20 out of 21 people found this helpful.

I am new to sewing and I am learning to quilt. I started on a very basic machine and got hooked. I was a little apprehensive that this machine might be too complicated, but it is not. It is very easy to use and has a lot of nice features. I love the built in thread cutter, it saves time and thread. I love the automatic thread tension. I have never had to adjust the tension. I like that the needle stops in the down position. this is helpful in turning corners. I used the built in fonts to add my grandson's name to a quilt I made for him.

This machine is an excellent value, easy to use, and packed full of features.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

More than I expected! LOVE IT!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

136 out of 138 people found this helpful.

I had read the reviews here on Singer.com, Amazon.com and PatternReview.com and came to the conclusion that if 99.9% of the people who purchased this machine were happy then I'd give it a go myself. I am so glad I did, I love my new Singer!! I haven't had Singer machine in a long while, my last was a 1960s model slant machine that my Mom gave me when she got a new machine. I do still have a vintage Singer 201 in original cabinet that was given to me by a friend, it still sews like a dream but has only basic stitches.

I needed a machine that I could take to quilting classes, my Viking Designer SE is just too big to tote around. The 9960 is just heavy enough to be steady when sewing at max speed and also give it a good non flimsy feel. I love the curved front design, mine also has a pretty design on the right lower front, I've heard some come without the design, perhaps an earlier run of the model.

The 9960 surprised me in that it sews smoothly, straight and the stitches are all well formed. The auto thread cutter at this price point ($329 on Amazon.com) is unheard of in most brands, it works well, very important if I'm free motion quilting.

I love all the feet that came with my machine, there was a bag labeled "Value added acessories" that wasn't even mentioned in the description on Amazon, it contained several specialty feet that would have cost at least $75 to purchase separately. The buttonholes are fantastic, I tried them on fleece, linen, double knit and all were just lovely. The variety of deco stitches included is nice to have, the alphabets are not that pretty but I hardly use them on my Viking so I don't mind. I am still curious as to why there would be a Russian alphabet on this machine. I did ask Singer and they replied they did not know why either? Oh well, no matter.

The machine also came with a hard cover with storage area and a slide on extension table! I really am in awe of what came with this machine and all that it can do. I would recommend the 9960 to any type of sewer. It is not too difficult to learn to use it, one does need to read the manual thoroughly though as it does have things you need to pay attention to that will make or break your sewing experience. I used sticky notes stuck at the edge of the pages I thought I might need to refer back to so I could find them easily.

The only thing missing from the 9960 that I would have paid extra money for is a knee lift for the presser foot.

One last thing. I use to teach adult sewing. The single most biggest frustration students had was only because they didn't have the right needle/thread/settings combination to sew the fabric they wanted to use. It is not the machine's fault if you try to sew a knit with heavy cotton thread and a blunt non ballpoint needle and have the machine set for a tiny stitch! It will not work and people will blame the machine. Education for proper sewing technique is all over the internet, for free or at your nearest public library. If you are a new sewer please educate yourself before beginning your project AND read your sewing machine's manual front to back as well.

Happy sewing to all!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best Singer yet

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Wonderfully Quiet

12 out of 13 people found this helpful.

I have always owned Singers.(51+years). Before I bought this one, I tried all of the top brands. I came back to singer because I LOVE this machine. It has every bell and whistle you could want. Quiet, doesn't skip stitches, LOOKS pricey, helps me pick out right attachments for my project, easy to thread, easy to fill bobbin, great buttonholes. I LOve the drop feed. My last machine, that I still use, along with two others, didn't have this feature, but above all, I love the amount of stitches available without having to go to embroidery machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

wonderful machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value

Cons: No Cons

9 out of 10 people found this helpful.

I was so excited to get this machine and have been sewing on it ever sence. It works beautiful and I have no problems but one it dosnt cut the bottom thread all the time but I can live with that.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

9960 Quantum Stylist....Love it

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

10 out of 11 people found this helpful.

I love this machine. I have had 4 surgeries on my foot, so being able to sew without using the foot pedal is a major plus for me. I love the easy treading and just the overall use of the machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

just got it

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

4 out of 7 people found this helpful.

we just have got it about 3 weeks ago so for we do like it we will tell you more as it come in.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Timing issues

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Poor Quality

40 out of 46 people found this helpful.

I have had this machine for 15 months. I was highly impressed at first. Now I can hardly sew for a few hours without it coming out of time. Thread jamming and such. Highly dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Wonderful machine!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Teaches You To Use The Correct Needles So Your Garments Come Out Even More Beautiful.

Cons: Changing The Needle Can Be A Pain If Your Not Used To It.

34 out of 35 people found this helpful.

For years I always wanted a top of the line singer, I learned to sew on singer but could never afford a good top of the line. Most of my machines were second hand but they were thankfully a Singer. This past Christmas I was given a gift of the Singer Quantam Stylist 9960. The machine hums and is quiet while doing it. I am loving my machine. I was a bit rusty about needles and not as knowlegable as I should be I admit I was one of those who rarely changed a needle. Well this machine teaches you to change the needle according to what fabric you use. It's not only a great machine it's a teaching machine! I am seeing comments about needing a cd for instruction and the book not being too informing, I have not found this to be. The book is very helpful and if you cannot find a solution to the problem email Singer they are more than willing to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love the machine

Overall Rating:

17 out of 19 people found this helpful.

I am on my third 9960 in as many months. The machine jams and quits working. Third time a charm? I hope this one will last. Love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love it!!!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

9 out of 11 people found this helpful.

Absolutely love it! Sews well and the decorative stitches are great additions to quilting projects. Have had many compliments about the decorative stitches and how fun they are when used as the quilting stitch. Excellent choice on my part after a few non-Singer machines over the past several years.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

review of my 9960 sewing machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

17 out of 18 people found this helpful.

I bought this machine because I joined a quilting club, and needed a new machine. I am very pleased and a few of the other women in my group are going to buy one also.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Amazing

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Amazing Details In Every Stitch

24 out of 26 people found this helpful.

I just got this machine this week and I'm in love with it...lol I am an expert seamstress, I have been sewing for 23 years...started sewing when I was 9, and this machine is perfect for extreme sewing. I sew everyday and needed a machine with all the design perks I could get. The price is great for all the features it has. I would recommend this to beginner to advanced seamstresses.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

WONDERFUL...easy to use!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Portable. Take It With You!

21 out of 23 people found this helpful.

This machine does it all! Great for beginner & pro. There's so many features, I haven't been able to use them all yet. I love the decorative stitches, the fact that you don't need to use the foot pedal if you don't want to & just the ease of portability that this machine offers. No more sewing cabinet! I love Singer Sewing machines.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A Dream Come True A Christmas Gift

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, No Need For Foot Controller, Easy To Use Threader, Thread Cutter

Cons: None So Far

35 out of 37 people found this helpful.

My BFF gave me this for Christmas . I have MS and can no longer use foot controller so this was like a dream come true for me thought my sewing days were over. not now. this gem does it all . haven't had any problems so far. only thing is I have so many pressure feet will take me awhile to learn what and how to use them.
I love my sewing machine !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features

Cons: Jams Easily

72 out of 86 people found this helpful.

I have owned the 9960 Quantum Stylist for about a month. I was so excited to replace my older machine of 25 years. Once I figured out how to use some of the features I have been sewing practically every day.I love that it is much quieter and has more to offer. However, my biggest complaint would be that the thread jams frequently and can be a little difficult to untangle the knotted mess under the feeddog. The upper thread has a tendency to break often due to the tension becoming overly tight. I have been disappointed in my purchase and would not recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, High Quality

Cons: Ergonomy

41 out of 43 people found this helpful.

My main interest was to get a powerful motor to work with heavier fabrics and I got what I wanted with the Quantum Stylist. You can do almost anything with this beauty! And it comes with so many presser feet that no project is impossible. I prefer the precision of electronic so anyone not good with that should not go for the Quantum Stylist. My only negative concern is where the button for reverse is located. Not obvious to reach and it is so easy to push the other buttons by mistake!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

19 out of 21 people found this helpful.

Unbelievable! I love my Quantum. I bought it about 5 months ago. It took me awhile to figure out all of the attachments because I have never had so many options before, but now that I have, I am making great use of everyone of them. I love the light on the machine, the stitch selections, the extended table, and all of the attachments. I am even quilting my own projects now. This machine is an incredible value for the cost and I would highly recommend it to every quilter!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Sewing More Than Ever

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Little Noisy

18 out of 21 people found this helpful.

This was a gift and I love it. I have been sewing and learning how to do more since I got this machine. The only concerns is that it's a little noisy, no local repair centers for warrenty close.
This machine is great for a beginner, it threads easy and is easy to understand. I am really happy that I received this machine. I also have a Viking D1 and never really sewed on it, I use it for embroidery. I would recommend this machine to anyone wanting to learn how to sew.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love, love, LOVE this machine!!!!!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

189 out of 191 people found this helpful.

I wanted to make sure I had this machine long enough to write an accurate review. It seems like the longer I have it, the more creative things I find to do with it. I absolutely love this machine! The only thing I wish it had that it doesn't is the choice for the needle to stop up. The needle automatically stops down and with the click of a button you can make it go up, but often times I forget and try to take the fabric out when the needle is down. I just wish it had the option of having it stop up OR down, however the seamstress chooses. Now for the pros:
--> I love the capability to write words and designs, then simply press start and it does it all for you. You of course have to guide the fabric, but you don't have to deal with the pedal. You can use the pedal if you want to.
--> I love that it shows what presser foot to use with each stitch. If I didn't know, I'd use the general foot all the time and you really do need to know which foot is a better choice for each stitch. I also recommend Lorna Knight's books that go into detail about each foot and stitches to use with each foot, etc. She helps you get the most out of your machine.
-->The automatic bobbin winding clutch is pretty awesome. I've never owned a machine with one and it's pretty cool to simply push it over and it winds it up for you. Just make sure the thread is straight or you'll end up with thread below the bobbin, like what happened to me once.
--> I love the auto lock stitch. Simply push the button before or after sewing a design and it will lock the stitch for you. You can also use it when you are using several designs in a row and it will stop it for you. If you don't use this, the design will continuously sew, which I like having these two options.
--> The error warning and animation is very helpful for me. Simply look at the screen and it will tell you what is wrong.
--> I like the extension table that is included and lots of presser feet.
--> The automatic needle threader is the best one I've experienced with so far. I've had the
Futura CE250 and XL400. The 9960 is the best. It is very simple and accurate. Do make sure you have the needle in the right way. It won't automatically thread and won't sew correctly using different presser feet if it's in wrong.
--> The speed control is very helpful.
--> The automatic thread cutter is helpful for large projects such as quilts, but anything small you might as well use the regular cutter.
--> Sews very smooth and quiet, has many designs to choose from, the sky's the limit on what you can do with this machine.

Get creative and have fun! Did I mention how much I love this machine?

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

few tweaks

Overall Rating:

Pros: Easy To Use

22 out of 36 people found this helpful.

The shank is to close to the bed, The needle threader gets in the way of a lot of my sewing including threading the needle. When I quilt My hand or my fabric hit the control buttons and change my stitch patterns mid-stream. One feature that I don't like is the darning foot, I have learned to use it and do fine. I did love the lettering piece. It take a long time to get to the space function and you use it all the time.When I first started I had a lot of medal sound , but it seems to be broke in now. I'd change some of the parts pieces. I broke a thread between the thread and the needle and had trouble getting it out so my tension was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Absolutely Amazing

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

16 out of 18 people found this helpful.

I really think I have died and gone to heaven with this machine. I can't find one flaw so far. I have had it for just shy of a year. Due to a family emergency I have just recently started really putting it to the test with sewing. I don't quilt so I can't speak for that, but I have never seen a machine that equals this one. It is an awesome machine, worth every penny I paid for it, and then some. I can't say enough about how wonderful this machine is.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

So easy to use.

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, All The Wonderful Stitch Patterns

19 out of 20 people found this helpful.

I love this machine. I have been looking for some time and found this on HSN and got a great deal on it. But sadly it is in the shop. I was in the middle of sewing and my four year old accidently hit a button and put the needle through the bobbin case. Since then it wouldn't sew anything. Customer Service was so great, I am waiting for it to be returned.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great Sewing Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Extra Pieces And Tools

60 out of 63 people found this helpful.

I love this sewing machine. I'm new to making quilts and this machine has all the necessary tools I need. It's also very quiet, and it's easy to transport to quilting classes, too. The only problem: When I put a rolled up quilt between the needle and the right side of the machine, sometimes I accidently hit one of the push buttons and that changes the stitch I'm using! Then I have to turn off the machine and reset the stitch. It would have been better to locate the push buttons further away from the sewing area to accommodate a large amount of fabric.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My First Electronic Sewing Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

31 out of 33 people found this helpful.

I LOVE MY NEW 9960 QUANTUM STYLIST!!! What was I waiting for. I had an 55yr old Elna my mother-in-law gave me 33 years ago. It died 3 years ago and I've been looking for a good sewing machine ever since. My brother found a 1993 Singer for me (my first Singer) about a month ago, and it's a great machine. But, I already had my eye on the 9960 Quantum Stylist. All the features, WOW! Now I have a Singer upstairs for simple repairs and for my sewing room.......my new 9960 Quantum Stylist. I am sewing a lot lately realizing how I missed sewing and THOUROUGHLY enjoying all the features on my new Quantum. So far 3 girlfriends and my mother have been over to see it and they are thinking maybe they need a new machine. They want the New 9960 Quantum Stylist too.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

need dvd

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Dvd Needed

68 out of 72 people found this helpful.

I am very pleased with my new machine but am a novice to anything but a plain sewing machine; I would love a instructional dvd so I can use the machine to it's full potential. The book doesn't explain things enough for me not to wreck the machine accidentally. Please please come out with a dvd I would really like to get into embroidery and quilting.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Replaced 1992 Husqvarna #1

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Cuts Threads

Cons: Won't Sew Left/right Needle Position

17 out of 20 people found this helpful.

I found my machine on HSN with free optional bonus feet and free shipping. My old machine was loved; however, I got ill and moved across country. The weight of the Husqvarna would have caused shipping to be too much. I did not think I'd be happy with a Singer to replace it, but I was wrong - I'm thrilled.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great Product

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: Manual Could Be More Detailed In Letter Stitches, Be Nice To See A Dvd Come With This

17 out of 19 people found this helpful.

So glad that I purchased this machine. The ease of most of the features are wonderful. I do wish the manual was a little clearer on the letter stitches and how to make them larger in size and thicker. Love all the feet. Thanks Singer.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love It

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Fun To Use!

23 out of 24 people found this helpful.

I have been wanting to get another Singer machine for a while, so when I saw this model on HSN I had to have it! It has all the features I've wanted and more...Plus all the added value feet and accessories, I couldn't wait to use it! It is just what I was hoping for! Easy to sew, the stitches are true and the machine is very sturdy and as other reviews mentioned - quiet! The display panel makes it easy to select the stitch patterns. I had been afraid that I wouldn't be able to figure it out at first, but the manual is very clear and helpful. So glad I made this purchase! I would definetly recommend this model to anyone who wants to have a top of the line machine with ease of use.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Have 3 machines, but 1st Singer

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Add A Pro

28 out of 29 people found this helpful.

I am very happy with this machine. Love the auto thread cutter ( No need for scissors to cut the thread when done). Very quiet machine. The extra large sewing surface is awesome, I use it all the time. 600 stitches, have used about 100. Can't wait to try the rest, 500 to go!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Outstanding!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Idiot Proof!!

37 out of 38 people found this helpful.

Could not believe it, out of the box and up and running within 30 minutes. I have never been happier in my life with a machine like this. Has all the bells and whistles, but none of the complicated technical stuff! Absolutely the quietest machine I have ever heard but a total workhorse! I especially love the Value Added feet, I don't know how I lived without the "in the ditch" foot!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No