logo_singer
singer global  |  where to buy  |  blog   |  login   |  signup   |  cart cart

Click here to review products

Reviews for 4423 | HEAVY DUTY

With a heavy duty metal interior frame and powerful motor, the SINGER® HEAVY DUTY sewing machine can sew through just about anything you throw at it.

« Back to product details

Show me:

Great machine for little money!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

88 out of 90 people found this helpful.

Couldn't be more pleased with this 4423. It's my my workhorse--handles everything. Bought it to have for the heavy jobs and also to have as a 2nd machine for when I'm sewing something which requires thread color changes often. This machines handles it all with ease and power. When I got it I took a strip of denim and folded layers in here and there to see how it would sew. This machine sewed down the strip up and over the humps like butter and without a vibration either. I was impressed as I had 14 layers in the little lumps. This would be a good starter machine for a beginner or to have as a 2nd machine for the heavy sewing. It does an equally nice job on sheer fabrics too. I am very happy with this machine! Just remember to use the correct size needle for the sewing job you're doing and you won't have any problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

"A Guy Machine"

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, My Dogs Like It.

Cons: My Tailor Hates It.

74 out of 74 people found this helpful.

I'm a 66 year old male and I needed a "guy machine" not a wimpy to many buttons kind of machine. Don't get me wrong the Singer 4423 has lots of extras. The 4423 was the perfect choice. I'm big in the belly and short in the legs so I always have a problem with pants that are too long legged. It cost me $8.00 every time I had my pants hemmed up. The Singer 4423 does the job easily. Like I said I'm a little too round so button popping is also a problem. The 4423 has an easy button sewing foot. No more sticking my fingers trying to hand sew those suckers. Oh and my eyes are a bit tired so threading a needle has always been a challenge. No more, the singer 4423 has a really great built in threader. At 1100 stitches per minute it made fast work of some black-out curtains I made for my t.v. room. the Singer 4423 is so much fun to use I'm constantly looking around my house to find something to sew. For instance my dogs chew up their stuffed toys. But now they are happy because I can sew up their toys instead of throwing them out. There, another savings. The 4423 has already paid for itself. My 92 year old mother has a Singer she bought during WW2. She still has it and it still works perfectly. That's why I knew my 4423 would be a great machine. Love it-love it-love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

test drive it first

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features

Cons: Boxy Casing

55 out of 62 people found this helpful.

I purchased this machine over the internet by the description and picture of the machine. I am a seamstress and sew approx. 55 hours a week. I was looking forward to a heavy duty machine that still had metal parts.

I was disappointed in the boxy style of the casing as the needle is hard to change, and threading is harder - even with the auto threader.

I patch jeans frequently and do so by turning the leg inside out. I cannot see to sew the patch down as the casing edge is too far in front of the needle. I like the built in stitches, easy to use.

The instruction book is very basic and not helpful if you need to trouble shoot, nothing about cleaning/lubricating the machine.

The machine is a good value for the money but not what I was hoping for.

I won't buy sight unseen again!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

picky bobbin threading

Overall Rating:

51 out of 55 people found this helpful.

I got this machine 5 months ago. It worked very well with different thickness fabric and the speed is very good. I noticed the bobbin threading problem at first try and it broke in 5 months of use. The upper thread won't pick up bobbin thread anymore and it won't loop and sew anymore. If the bobbin threading issue can be improved, this can be a great machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Excellent Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Versatile

50 out of 50 people found this helpful.

Although I have to admit, I am new to sewing. Being a Man its kind of hard to find information on the subject. After doing some research on sewing machines, I chose the 4423 Heavy Duty model. My initial intention was to use it for sewing garment quality leather. It worked well, seeing how I had NO sewing experience what so ever. I then moved onto other projects, little ones like sewing two coats for two pups. It worked really well for this. I have to say, this machine is sturdy. I have since moved onto other materials, namely 80% polyester 20% Lycra. After realizing the importance of needles, with the leather. I quickly went and bought some ball point needles. I have to say, you have to have the right tools for ANY given job. This machine really does handle it. Looking for different presser feet, there are alot of them which fit this machine. At the nearby Singer Authorized Repair facility, they toolk the time to try out several different ones with me. Online they do not offer a big selection of available presser feet. I have a pretty good list of new items, I eventually will need. At the store where I purchased this machine, they tried to sell me a different make, other than Singer, but seeing how My Grandmother used a Singer, My Sisters used Singer's, I felt relatively secure in choosing a Singer. The quality is excellent and this machine really does a good job. Money well spent if you ask me.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Used Long Enough To Review

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Stitches Bunch And Knot Too Often.

27 out of 27 people found this helpful.

I have used this machhine long enough to review properly now. I like the features offered. I really like having such complete control over the stitch length and widths. Yes it will sew over thick material but unless you have some momentum going, the thread will bunch up and tangle. I seem to have a lot of trouble with the knotting of thread when I sew over thickness. Changing needles don't seem to help. But overall, this is really a good machine to sew with.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Learned a lesson.

Overall Rating:

Cons: Not User Friendly

27 out of 35 people found this helpful.

As an experienced seamstress for 40+ years, I learned not to buy without physically seeing and 'test driving' a new machine. While this machine has great built-in features that are fairly easy to use, ( I had to get better instructions from the internet to use the buttonholer), I would not recommend this to anyone. The Boxy style of the machine makes changing a needle very frustrating as you cannot see to hold the needle when inserting it into the proper place. The needle is hardly visible, so the needle threader is handy but not easy to work. I patch and mend jeans frequently and do not use this machine at all for that. I tried, but again because of the boxy design I could not see the inside of the leg or the patch itself to stitch down. And where are the instructions/diagram for lubricating this machine? I have sewn on and owned Singer machines for years, but I am very disappointed in this model.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Excellent machine!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

25 out of 25 people found this helpful.

I received my machine about a month ago, and have been using it off and on since for several diffent projects. I am a basic operator, out of practice and behind the times.The manual makes set up and usage easy. The machine has plenty of power and is user friendly. Changing feet and using the needle threader take a little getting used to, but that was the inexperience of the operator, not the difficulty of the machine. I have had no problems with it yet, and am very pleased with the performance. Excellent value for the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It's a workhorse

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use, High Quality

23 out of 23 people found this helpful.

I LOVE this machine. I use it every day for many hours a day. It easily sews through several layers of fabric at a time.

The speed of the machine is amazing! I have only had this machine for about 3 months so far, but have no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

4423 Heavy Duty

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

21 out of 21 people found this helpful.

I replaced an old Touch and Sew with this machine. I sew tents, dog harnesses, collars, leashes, chest packs, and other outdoor equipment and also do modifications on existing hiking/backpacking products.

I am about to start a major new tent project and have been working on smaller projects to get a hand on using the machine before I run a bunch of fabric through it. So far seems like a great little machine. It is racing car fast and the stitches of its straight stitch line up perfectly.

I tried using the button foot to mend a couple of shirts missing buttons and had a bit of difficulty. The thread on the bobbin side kept bunching up making huge thread clumps. This is the same manifestation that caused me to get rid of my old machine. Obviously it is something I am doing. But I don't know what. If you read this review and know the answer please see if you can respond. I would really appreciate it. In the mean time I will ask customer service then I can write a review on their response.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Just received my new Singer 4423.

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

20 out of 20 people found this helpful.

Only had it for a couple days. Took a few hours to go through the manual and learn all the features. It's a lot like the last Singer machine I've had for over 40+ years. It's a great machine for what I need, which is mainly for repairing stuff. Will be trying to make some curtains and light clothing. I like that it will go through heavy layers and it sews fast!

I like that it only weighs 17 Lbs. and is smaller that my last machine.

I would recommend this machine to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

takes time to adjust to it

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, High Quality

Cons: See Review

19 out of 19 people found this helpful.

My previous Singer machine had automatic tension adjustment and this machine is all done manually. It was frustrating to me at first to get it adjusted properly but finally at #5, it sews like it should. The more I use it, the more I'm liking my machine. I had no problems adjusting to doing the bobbin a different way and I can tell that it has speed through different types of materials. I believe I did make a good choice and I'm sure that after a few months of regular use, I will say I love my machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

18 out of 18 people found this helpful.

I have used and had singer machines for over 50 years. I now make Renaissance clothing and needed a heaver machine. This machine took some time to get use to, but it works great, can sew heavy or light material without a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My new singer

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

18 out of 19 people found this helpful.

I have had this machine for awhile but just started to use it. I like the fact it sews through many layers, as I use on jeans a lot. My only complaint is that it is very noisy. It seems to thud very loudly.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Best Purchase

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

17 out of 17 people found this helpful.

I had a singer yrs. ago & bought a different one that was suggested to me by a friend who said it was better. Wrong. I am back to a singer & love it.This machine is great for what I wanted to use it for. Will go through light or heavy material & easy to use & thread does not jam up like the previous one. Very good machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great for the price

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use, Heavy Duty Indeed

14 out of 14 people found this helpful.

I bought this when I saw the word 'Heavy Duty'. So, as soon as I got home I had to check it out. I was amazed how it took really thick layers and sewed with ease. I used thin material and tested it out too. It served my purpose really well, without any sqeek or sqeel. So far so good. Actually so far excellent. I wish singer would come up with a sturdy and convenient to use cover for its machines. Also, I have not found out how to clean this machine (especially when it gets too much lint). I owned a Kenmore for almost 40 years. It is a great machine and I can open up its sides and bottom (no screw drivers needed) to get to the moving parts and clean them occasionally. But this one I can't do it. There is also no indication if I need to oil this machine and where to pour the oil. If anyone can help me with this I appreciate it. I would like to maintain this machine for another 40 years; just like my Kenmore.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It is so-so heavy duty machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Easy To Use

Cons: Few Features, Buttonhole Dial

14 out of 20 people found this helpful.

I have been using that for 4 months now. I always used my mother's oldest singer machine that last 20 years. But this machine was my graduation gift. I found few issues that need to be resolved. For example, the buttonhole foot, the function was not properly. It would not move to number 2 to 4. It stayed on number 1. The manual instruction was too basic. It would not help this troubleshooting. Button Foot works fine but not the buttonhole foot itself. The dial would not send the machine to make it function.

I want to warn you to be aware that sometime bobbin gets stuck because that I realized the number 3 (Thread Take-up lever) would not hold the string very well if you sew over time and it get jabbed to cause the material stuck or bobbin thread oddly on the underneath of material. If it happens to you, make sure check the Thread Take-up Lever because sometime the string would not stay in. I wish that Thread Take Up Lever has hole itself, not slide under and hold it.

Underneath Needle plate over, be aware that it can cause strings stuck sometime. I had to remove out and clean it out and to make sure it works fine. It was time consuming because there is no manual how to fix or clean it. I had to assume myself if it works right. (Wish that tools like screw or Flat head screw included for this machine) Many tools that were too big for this machine or others so i had to use the smallest tool but could not find one so my friend had to make it and bend the length to make it work. Prefer to have singer tools which it would be nice.

Other than that, I like this machine for my first time sewing. I had other Singer Machine (cant remember the number) it was a huge problem and I had to send it back. Secondly, I like this machine and it was okay reasonable price but the function itself is not emphasized as heavy duty than I would thought.

I hope someday Singer makes Foot speed control that has adjust or dial speed number to control the speed. I had hard time to control it. It would be nice to have accommodation for me. Like, slow, medium, fast, umlimited dial.. Something like that.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great Choice

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: None

12 out of 12 people found this helpful.

I couldn't wait to get this machine home to try and I wasn't disappointed. Why Singer? I just gave up my Singer Geni that I purchased in 1972. I worked that machine to death for all those years and never once had to have it repaired.This machine has so many wonderful stitches and they are easy to use. Love this machine. The stitches are just perfect and it sews so quietly. I might just buy another Singer when this one is 40 years old!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Not a fan

Overall Rating:

Cons: Complicated, Birdnests, Poor Tension

12 out of 13 people found this helpful.

I have not been able to get this machine to sew properly since the day I purchased it. It skips stitches, birdnests, and the tension is terrible. I bought this from the Joanns that I work at and I have seen 3 of these machines returned because they were faulty. I do not reccommend this machine at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

kansaspride

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use

Cons: Poor Quality

12 out of 13 people found this helpful.

I bought this machine a year ago after my old singer of over 20 years gave out. I bought this machine based on customer reviews needing a machine that can not only sew apparel well but can also handle heavy interior and upholstrey weight fabrics and thicknesses because I sew for an interior designer. I have to say I have been nothing but dissapointed in this machine. I have had significant trouble with the mechanical workings and have had to have it worked on 3 times already in 1 year. Just today it has quit advancing the fabric and it will have to be worked on again. Also the needle has trouble penetrating through 5-6 layer thick interior weight fabrics and yes I am using the best needles I can buy.I do not recommend this machine and wish I had returned it as soon as I had bought it.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

great little machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use

11 out of 11 people found this helpful.

I've used it to sew horse santa hats and works fine. I plan on using it to repair horse blankets.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

VERY DISAPPOINTED

Overall Rating:

Cons: Poor Quality

11 out of 12 people found this helpful.

I purchased this machine after watching a demonstration on TV. I have an older Singer that is about 20 years old, and have been immensely satisfied. However I liked to new features and versatility that was advertised in the demonstration. So I bought it. Within five months I started having problems with the bobbin thread. The stitches on the underside of the fabric started tangling and becoming loopy. I called the Singer Co, and advised of the problems I was having. At first, they told me the warranty had expired and that I would have to pay for it to be fixed. However, after doing my homework on the internet, and after reading many other reviews, I realized that this was not an isolated incident and it was a habitual problem with this machine, I convinced the representative that this was a manufacturing defect and they should cover the cost of the repair. They extended my warranty and I had to pay to have my machine shipped to a certified Singer repair facility.

Well I just got my machine back, and guess what?! It still wasn't fixed!!! As a matter of fact, when I unpacked it, the upper case wasn't even screwed on correctly. I called The Singer Company Back, and the representative on the phone advised me to call the repair shop and have it sent back to them. I questioned whether I should have to pay for shipping out of my pocket again, and the representative stated that the repair shop should cover the expense, since they didn't fix it. I called the repair shop, and they told me that I would have to pay for shipping to have it sent back!! I argued them that I shouldn't have to pay since they never fixed it, and that Singer was paying them for the warrranty work that they didn't do. They still refused to pay for shipping. The representative became rude and snippy. So now I am stuck with a worthless piece of Junk. I could not call Singer Back because it was after hours. However I will try to call them tomorrow to see if they will replace the machine. If not, I will write bad reviews on all the other websites. I used to love Singer, but after this experience, I will never buy another Singer product again.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

4423

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Sews Beautifully

10 out of 10 people found this helpful.

B. eautiful machine. Heavy duty. Easy to thread and love the threading numbers on the machine. I have a large commerical machine for upholstery weight fabrics, but this 4423 will make beautiful pillows and I have the attachment for ruffler that I can't have on the commerical machine. I highly recommend this machine and easy to transport from job to job.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

finally i got a good machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

9 out of 9 people found this helpful.

may be the look is not that impressive,but believe me its a perfect machine from a begginer to an expert.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Straight Out of the Box

Overall Rating:

Pros: Decent Price

Cons: Poor Quality

9 out of 12 people found this helpful.

Straight out of the box it does not work. The feed dog does not work, the material does not move. I tried to adjust the presser foot and the feed dog level, nothing. Brand new machine that does not sew!!! Imagine that, I have a Futura II that my Mom purchased for me in jr high that is still working in great condition, I am so disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

my first machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

8 out of 8 people found this helpful.

My very first sewing machine and I am very pleased. Easy to use. I'm just learning so I'm not familiar yet with all it can do. So far so good!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Glad i waited to buy

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

8 out of 8 people found this helpful.

the price was right and i enjoy the easy way you can access all the different stitches this is my first machine that I did not have to add different accessories in order to do specialty products the buttonhole feature and auto threader is a time saver

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Portable and Strong

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

8 out of 8 people found this helpful.

Works great for making fleece blankets for childrens gift boxes. Perfect for basic use and heavy fabric.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love my machine!

Overall Rating:

8 out of 8 people found this helpful.

This is the 3rd Singer machine I have owned and by far the best. I do a lot of sewing for friends, family and also commercially. This machine is so easy to use and I love the auto threader and the auto button whole and sewing on buttons!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Amazing 4423

Overall Rating:

Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality

8 out of 8 people found this helpful.

I am over joyed with this machine I make quilts and they can be thick or thin and this machine sews right through the material with no problem of this thickness. My mother has always stated that singer was the best and this has made me agree with her she has been using singer brand since she was a young woman and she is 77 at this time and still using singer.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Do not waste your money!

Overall Rating:

Cons: Poor Quality, Known To Have Bobbin Issues.

8 out of 8 people found this helpful.

I had a perfectly good Singer that was about 5 years old but decided to upgrade to the 4423 and what a waste of money!! Had it for about a year but only used it twice on the third time the needle thread would not pick up the bobbin thread.. Called Singer customer service and rep. informed me that the timing was probably off but because I was a month past a year of the purchase date they would not fix it. I called local repair shop and it is going to cost me $98 to fix and he has seen this issue before with this model. Im so upset because I could have used the $98 dollars toward a better machine!!!!!! To make things worse I gave away my old machine and now I do not have a working machine! Don't make the same mistake and buy different machine!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

best gift ever

Overall Rating:

Pros: Light Weight, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Smooth To The Touch

7 out of 7 people found this helpful.

perfect, smooth, heavy duty, make you wanted to do more project

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, High Lift Presser Foot

Cons: Needle Position Dial Seems To Be Out Of Sink

7 out of 7 people found this helpful.

I bought this HD as a spare since I already have the CG550. This machine has a higher presser foot lift which is fantastic, needle threader which I'm needing more every day and more stitch choices. It is quieter than my original HD and feeds fabric better. It also has one step buttonholer which my CG550 doesn't. It is very quiet for a heavy duty. I have 8 Singers but my heavy duty machines are the ones I go to first and use them every day.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Only ok

Overall Rating:

Cons: Few Features

7 out of 7 people found this helpful.

For the price it's okay. Not what I had expected. Doesn't have down needle stop option. Thread slips through needle easily if you don't leave a super long thread tail. Bobbin doesn't wind evenly. Liked my old Kenmore better. Not what a decent daily used "Heavy Duty" mechanical machine should be.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Are You Kidding Me!!!

Overall Rating:

Pros: None

Cons: Poor Quality, Unreliable

7 out of 7 people found this helpful.

Purchased this sewing machine as a gift for my daughter who is learning to sew. I purchased this machine on December 6, 2012 and on January 11, 2013 the machine will not sew. Before we could finish her first project the thread under the fabric began bunching. I performed all the checks and balances recommended in the user's guide (i.e., re-threaded the machine, checked the bobbin case, ran another bobbin, checked all of the upper tensions, stitch width and length, ensured that the button hold lever was in the up position, etc.) The machine will sew about 2-4 stitches and will then just grind and will not stitch another stitch. This is so discouraging. At this point, I am kicking myself, because I knew I should have purchased another brand of sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

model 4423

Overall Rating:

7 out of 9 people found this helpful.

I bought this machine two times. Both machines seized up on me after sewing for a few times. I was only sewing straight stitches and not of heavy material. They were on sale and at a fairly good price I was very disappointed that they didn't operate correctly.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Love It!

Overall Rating:

6 out of 6 people found this helpful.

Can't beat the value for the price!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Dancing Needle

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value

Cons: Poor Quality

6 out of 6 people found this helpful.

I've had this machine for 6 months now and when I first got it I thought it was wonderful but quickly it became a nightmare. In the past 6 months I've had to take it in to be repaired 4 times due to the bobbin thread bunching and gathering under the fabric and the top thread only tacking once or twice every 10 stitches. This is my first machine, I used my grandmother's and mother's up until now, and I've noticed that the needle tends to swing back and forth every time I add a new bobbin in ... as a quilter that is frequently. The ladies at the sewing shop I take my machine to have commented several times on the strangeness of this and each time have agreed that I shouldn't continue to have problems as it isn't human error. I may simply have gotten a bad product but after over 100 years of Singer being the machine of choice in my family I can guarantee I'll be going else where with my next machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Wonder what happened

Overall Rating:

Pros: Easy To Use

Cons: Poor Quality, Expensive

6 out of 6 people found this helpful.

I used it twice before the feed dogs broke, and I only used 2 layers of denim, hemming my jeans. I cannot afford to send it to the service places, so I have to find a different machine. I am very disappointed and will not buy another singer.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My new machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, Easy To Use

6 out of 11 people found this helpful.

The very best feature on this machine is the self-
threading feature. It's the greatest. I am having a little trouble getting the bobbin to remain where it is supposed to. I am also looking forward to sewing something on the smaller extension table.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very dissapointed

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Poor Quality, Does Not Live Up To Expectations

5 out of 5 people found this helpful.

I had very high hopes for this machine. It has great features, tremendous speed (really, faster than I can handle at full throttle). I bought this machine because the manual talked about being able to sew leather and other heavy materials -- I have some bags I wanted to make with a light leather cap on the bottom. I tried to sew one layer of 1.5 oz leather onto 10 oz canvas, and the machine broke. The hook has been knocked out of synch from the needle, and I now can't sew three stitches without the upper thread being tangled in the bobbin carriage. I am extremely disappointed, and it looks like I am going back to hand stitching for even the lightest leather, and going back to my old reliable 1802 for general use. I will be returning my 4423.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Fine Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use, Reasonably Light Weight.

4 out of 4 people found this helpful.

I have finished my sewing project and have been very happy with the ease of using this machine. It is lighter in weight compared to my old machine , and seems to sew fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Pretty good

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, Stainless Steel Internal Parts

Cons: Timing Issues

4 out of 4 people found this helpful.

I got a heavy duty machine so that I could sew through bike inner tubes. This machine handles that fairly well, in addition to being able to handle lighter work. Since I've had it, I've made pants, a shirt, curtains, and numerous wallets and bags out of rubber. It's a pretty sturdy machine, and I especially like how easily it does buttonholes.

It is a heavy duty machine, but I have already had to reset the timing twice. I suppose that if it didn't have steel parts it might have just broke. But still, this seems like a major flaw. If I couldn't fix this on my own, and had to take it in, I'd probably already have spent as much as the machine cost on repairs already. Not to mention the time it would have taken. The first time it happened was two days after I got it.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Not What I Thought

Overall Rating:

Pros: Smooth Stitching

Cons: Poor Quality, Not Heavy Duty

4 out of 8 people found this helpful.

They shouldn't describe this machine as "heavy duty," because it gave me the impression that the entire thing was metal. I wanted something a little more sustainable because plastic always cracks or eventually breaks. The machine itself stitches very well so far, however don't waste your money. My cheaper, older machine was just as good.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

New Singer

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

3 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I recently purchased this machine and I love it. I sewing like a dream and really does sew through multiple layers of demin without stalling or skipping stitches.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Super Machine!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Sturdy

3 out of 3 people found this helpful.

This is my first Singer and wow!am I happy to get one.
The machine is very easy to use. The manual is detailed and easy to undertand. I like the size of it because it takes little space. I made my first dress and the stitch is perfect, either if I want to gather the fabric or stitch a zipper.
The bobbin case is easy to use and runs very smooth. I like the stitch button that let me select, smoothly, a different stitch.
The base is wide which makes it comfortable to stitch long pieces of fabric.
Overall, it's perfect. My next singer will be an overlock....

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Horrible

Overall Rating:

Cons: Poor Quality

3 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I have been sewing for years and have never had so many problems with a machine!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

4423 heavy duty

Overall Rating:

3 out of 15 people found this helpful.

4423 heavy duty

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

love sewing

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 2 people found this helpful.

i enjoy the ease of sewing, bobbin winding, threading the machine....

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I have been sewing for over 50 years and find this to be a great basic machine. I also have a Futura XL-400 and a Singer Pro-Finish serger, so I only needed a basic machine for everyday sewing. It has met my expections and I'm very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Home work

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I enjoy the extra sturdy singer for repairing my Blue Jeans. Works for me...

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

bobbin troubles

Overall Rating:

Pros: Great Features

2 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I really like my machine, but Im not to sure the bobbin is set right....I sew at a sewing factory and found out sewing at home is a whole different story..so Im learning all over again..any one else have any answers about the bobbin trouble?

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Excellent quality & price

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I purchased this machine on black Friday. What a blessing it's been. I was so tired of my Kenmore, which never really worked and was awful and drustrating. My singer machine does it all, in minutes. I have reupholstered a glider rocking chair for my daugther, made several craft projects, etc. The sky is the limit. No need to spend hundreds or thousands on a sewing machine. After all, our pioneer women made quilts out of old clothes.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

HAPPY GAL

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Needle Threader

2 out of 2 people found this helpful.

Awesome sewing machine. Easy instructions, user friendly. First project sewed 6 draperies. Machine sews with ease. Thanks Singer for a real GEM!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Durable machine! Works well!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I really love my machine. I sew a lot of craft items for sale. I needed a new machine and was not able to get a commercial sewing machine at the time. This one gets the job done. Just make sure you clean it and oil it and it is the best machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Disappointed

Overall Rating:

Cons: Poor Quality

2 out of 2 people found this helpful.

Bobbin jammed need to bring to a repair shop to figure out why and maybe reset timing 60.00 to start very disappointed. Machine was not even used 5 times.The commercial wording is just a sticker put on the machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

I Liked so well , bought my wife one

Overall Rating:

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

Am a quilter does every thing great.Like singer becoues we hav a 1908 singer that sews very well after 103 years. Singer is the BEST

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Excellent Basic Sewing Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

2 out of 3 people found this helpful.

I sew professionally and needed another basic sewing machine to use on jobs away from my work area. This machine is lightweight and easy to transport. I love that it is not computerized, the built in stitches, the high sewing speed and the extra high pressure foot control. The accessory storage in the front of the free arm is convenient for times when I am away from my shop. The machine is very affordable and easy to use. I would recommend this machine to any serious sewer who wants a good basic sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My Birthday Surprise

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

Love this Singer 4423. When my husband and I sat down to check it out -- directions were easy to understand, prepping bobbin easy, threading the machine was also easily done, and the resultant sewing was really a pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

LOVE IT, THE WORKHORSE

Overall Rating:

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

This is my third Singer. This thing is a workhorse. The only thing I'd change is that there are NOT enough stitches on this.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Heavy Duty 4423

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

Cons: I Have No Cons Against Singer.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

Singer is always dependable and a tough machine that lasts for years and years. I've been using Singers since I was in school, and for at least 54 years. I have 3 Singer Machines and the origional one I had in high school which back then was very basic and they all still work. I've tried other machines and they don't hold a candle to Singer.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

What a great gift!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

I am delighted with my new machine! I have lots of new features (my old machine was a gift in 1967) and runs so smoothly. I was blessed to get a class to learn about this model and its capabilities, at no extra charge, and am enjoying using it every spare moment.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

4423 great fun to use

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, Add A Pro Like The Color.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

Like this machine so well I bought 2 1 for my wife and one for me. It does every thing well!

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Very Happy!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, Handles Heavy Fabric And Layers Well, Nice Design

Cons: Instruction Manual Is Not Well Written

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

I bought the 4423 Heavy Duty about two months ago because I needed a machine that could handle several layers or heavy fabric. I read a lot of online reviews, many of which were negative. I havent' experienced any of the problems listed in those reviews. For instance, one person said it was the loudest machine they've ever heard. This machine is not loud! It has been running smoothly and handling the heavy fabric with ease. I like the style of the machine, and it stores away nicely in my small apartment. I would recommend this machine without hesitation. For the price, it's an very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Ready to Sew

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features

Cons: Complicated, Hard To Set Up Bobbin Thread To Pick Up Needle Thread

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

Received 4423 Heavy Duty Sewing Machine on 12/5/2012. Great working first time. On second time using it I was unable to pick up bobbin thread with needle. Machine now in repair shop. Can't wait to get it back because it works great when sewing through thick materials. I look forward to getting it back.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

This unit I got pros & cons

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use

Cons: Few Features, Thread Tension Is A Problem

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

The 4423 is a good machine with reasonable price. The first time I try it out I have some difficulties to maintain the thread "tension", especially when doing the button holes and other zig-zag sewing, otherwise everyting seems to be normal. I would appricate if some expert would be able to help in this regards, Chris.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

4423 Review

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value

Cons: Threading And Poor Lighting.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

Machine is excellent for heavy duty sewing, however, it is difficult to thread even with threader. There is not enough space for your hand between plate and machine to thread. Also, thread had a tendency to break with twin needle. stitching. Poor lighting is also an issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Easy to use

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use

Cons: Few Features

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

It is easy to use and light enough to carry from room to room. So far it serves my purpose

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Aggravated

Overall Rating:

Pros: A Trusted Name ??

Cons: Poor Quality

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

not only does it birds nest under the bobbin and the thread breaks. The time it takes me to sew a straight line is ridiculous(because of all the problems I was told to pull thread tight when threading and to floss on step 5. I could sew faster by hand . Lets talk about all the needles that break maybe I better not this is long enough

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

i believe i'm in love!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

Easy to use, Will sew what ever you ask her to without stopping or stuttering.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

My 4423 Heavy Duty

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value

Cons: Just A Couple Of Problems

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

I really liked my Singer right out of the box, but then I had a problem. My bobbin would not work right, so I took it to my local shop. The repairman found the problem corrected it and I picked up my Singer later that day, it was only a week old so it was covered under the warranty. The hole where the needle goes down into the bobbin area is to small, I was bending or breaking my needles. I made the hole a little larger and have had no more problems. I removed the snaps off 6 racing shirts and replaced them with Velcro, my singer did a great job. I was a little unhappy at first, now that the problems have been repaired, I love my singer it does what I want it to, with no more problems. I think Singer should give each purchaser a class on how to operate there machine before they leave the store with it. Show them and explain to them the basics of how its features work, what to do and what not to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

a shame

Overall Rating:

Cons: Poor Quality, Expensive

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

i had the machine for less than a year and it worked through at least 8 projects... then the reverse button got stuck and it took 4 phone calls to fix and then while in the middle of a project it would not sew forward or backward. it continously got stuck i changed the thread, bobbin and needles and no luck... and i take to my repair man and he showed me 5 other machines with the same problems and it continues to occur... heavy duty seems to be a lie.. im very disappointed...

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

How to lubricate this machine ?

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value

Cons: Need More Maintenance Instructions

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

I bought it two year ago, but don't know how to lubricate it due to noisy when running.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Horribly Disappointed in Singer

Overall Rating:

Cons: Poor Quality

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

During the machine's first hour of use (sewing light-weight fabric), the thread tangled and jammed so often, it became unusable. I decided against sending the machine to a Singer Service Center because the cost to ship was high and the estimated time the machine would be outside of my possession was a couple weeks. Instead I took the machine to a repair shop across the street. This veteran sewing machine shopkeep identified the timing was horribly off. Oddly, he wasn't all that surprised I had encountered such a problem so early in my use of the machine. That should have been a clear warning sign.

The next few garments I sewed without incident. But as I approached (what I estimate to be) the 10th hour or so of total use, I began to notice the feed dogs were not advancing the fabric. I, once again, traipsed across the street to allow my local repairman to assess the broken machine. He ascertained quickly one of the gears that controls the feed dogs had worn out. Needless to say, I did not invest any more money on this lemon.

I submitted a request via email to Singer customer service for a replacement machine. I have not received a response; 4 weeks have already passed.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Like my new 4423

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use

Cons: Lack Of Information In Instruction Manual

1 out of 1 people found this helpful.

I chose the Heavy Duty 4423 because I hem Denim pants, frequently. This machine can handle 6 layers of Denim, no problem. I did find the Instruction Manual-lacking (missing) some important information; like the size of bobbins to use with the machine. Hope they add this to the manual.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

A Great Back Up Sewing Machine!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

Back 2 Basics with this machine. Features are basic and for me it's not complicated at all. This makes a great back up sewing machine especially when your sewing machine (the 1 that is used often) is in the shop for service / repairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

4423 Heavy Duty

Overall Rating:

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I bought this machine for its ability to do so much since it has been many years since I've sewn. I received the machine and started my project and somehow changed the needle placement on the machine and the instructions gave no help in setting it back. I sent an email to Singer's Customer Service but did not receive an answer. I finally decided to go to Facebook and after about a week someone answered my question. Unfortunately, I have not been able to get to my project since that time but look forward to trying this heavy duty machine again.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Avoid this machine

Overall Rating:

Cons: Poor Quality

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

The first time I used this machine it stopped working. I push the pedal and it revs but nothing happens.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use, High Quality

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

I like this machine because it's simple. I needed a heavy duty machine to meet my sewing needs. This machine does the job. I would recommend this machine to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

It's magic

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

1 out of 2 people found this helpful.

My machine is magic. I push the pedal and it magically makes cloth and anything else in it stick together. For this reason I have opted not to place my fingers directly in it. If they were stuck together it would be hard to use the shears.

The subtle grey color of the machine works well at never outshining me and my flamboyant neon colors. In fact, if I'm not looking for it very hard I might not notice it is there.

You need never worry that the government will charge you with improper light bulbs as this forward thinking machine uses led light bulbs and should be compliant with the laws for many years to come.

So far this thing has magically stuck together four thick layers or cotton canvas like material. I await my opportunity to try it on leather as I endeavor to make a trap shooting vest for my husband.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Good machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value

Cons: Poor Quality

1 out of 4 people found this helpful.

Not great for heavy duty,

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Bobbin Threading

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use

Cons: Bobbin Basic Should Be A Piece Of Cake

The only issue with this machine so far is with the bobbin It seams to be very tricky. Sometimes it works just fine and the next time it turns out to be a mess.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Review after 2 uses

Overall Rating:

Machine noisier than any sewing machines that I've used in the past.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

fashion designer who finally got his heavy duty dream

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Can Sew Leather

Cons: Expensive

I've wanted a heavy duty singer sewing machine since i first laid eyes on the green original heavy duty machines. I was finally able to get a great machine at a price i could afford. I love this machine and sew on it daily. I can't wait to grow with the machine

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Fiasco

Overall Rating:

Pros: None

Cons: Would Not Work Correctly

The first time I attempted to use the Singer, the stitches were irregular with big loops on the reverse side. I spent one entire morning on the phone with one of your reps. She tried everything to correct the problem. She finally had gone through all the procedures possible and said that something was wrong with the machine and I should return it to Sears, which I did. After seeing the Singer and how it worked, I then bought another Brother machine which is much easier to use.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

4423 singer great machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Easy To Use

I have loved this machine. The 4423 is a real good machine for the money. After all the poor reviews this machine has got I believe it was just that the tension was not set right or the bobbin not threaded right. I use it daily and I have had no problems. Just one item is the light is not bright enough so I need a lamp.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

What I hopped it would be!

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, High Quality, Singer, Strong

I have never done much sewing, just my mothers machine when I was a kid, 60 years ago. I bought this machine to repair boat canvas, make outdoor furniture covers, and anything else that comes up. I am pleased with the power of the machine and it's ability to do several layers of canvas. The few jamming problems are probably my own fault and inexperience.
I am curious in these days of high technology with stepping motors etc. why it doesn't have a true speed control. The need to press the pedal harder to provide the starting torque followed by a burst of speed is reminiscent of 60 year old technology. Maybe experienced sewers would not go of it?

That comment aside I am happy with the machine. Singer is a trusted brand name. I respect others but when you have no experience with others and all other things are equal go with the company that has a reputation to protect.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No

Great & Excellent Machine

Overall Rating:

Pros: Good Value, Great Features, Easy To Use, High Quality, Easy Bobbin Threading And Winding

Cons: Missing Some Accessories

I had gotten this machine 4 weeks ago. It worked very well with different thickness in fabric and the speed is very good. The bobbin threading is very easy. Just one advice, when threading bobbin, be gentle!!! The only problem is that it was missing some accessories, which I have contacted for Singer to send me, hope they will send. I used this machine for sewing garment quality leather and it worked well. I even sewed a thick torn stretchy pants with hem and I have to say, this machine did a great hem and is sturdy. I have since moved onto other materials, namely 80% polyester 20% Lycra. After realizing the importance of needles, with the leather. I quickly went and bought some ball point needles. I have to say, you have to have the right tools for ANY given job. This machine really does handle it. Looking for different presser feet, there are a lot of them which fit this machine. I found some more presser feet via online. I have a pretty good list of new items that, I eventually will need. The quality is excellent and this machine really does a great job. Money well spent if you ask me.

Was this review helpful? Yes | No